Book Review: Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
Read and Reviewed by Kristen Harvey

“There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends. I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.”

northanger

The classics. A world that many admire yet surprisingly few seem to read. I’ll admit that the only one I’ve ever read was probably Wuthering Heights in my childhood, and that though I had loved watching the on screen adaptations of many of the classics, I have failed to thoroughly enjoy them in paper form. Why I chose Northanger Abbey to start me off, I have no idea! I’m not sure I’ve ever even watched the cinematic versions of the book before this year.

Northanger Abbey was Jane Austen’s first book finished for publication, and though it was purchased, it was never printed. She bought the book back near her death, and was in the the middle of revisions when she passed away. It was published after she died, and though her works such as Pride ad Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility are more well known, it is said that Northanger Abbey was her favourite. I can’t vouch one hundred percent to that, as I never in fact met Jane Austen, but after having read NA, it is definitely one of my favourites of Austen’s already.

NA follows the young Catherine Morland on her first trip into society, where she is staying in the town of Bath with family friends. Craving adventure and friendship, she befriends Isabella Thorpe and her super creepy stalker brother, and chances upon meeting Mr. Henry Tilney, a fine young man with surprising knowledge of fashion.  Circumstances, lies, and misunderstandings all pile up, leading her to be invited to stay with the Tilney’s at their home, Northanger Abbey. Unfortunately, Catherine’s imagination and love of fiction lead her brain to decipher clues that aren’t really there, to solve a murder that didn’t really happen.

KH Rating: 5/5

loved NA so much because Catherine really reminds me of me. Her imagination runs wild and she creates stories, and she judges people by comparing them to book characters. Her devotion to her friends is also remarkably like my own, and I feel that if she were a real person, we would’ve just read for hours and talked about Mr. Tilney’s charms.

I also watched the movie while reading the book, and truly loved them both. The only issue I had with the movie was that it brushed by so many adorable things, such as Mr. Tilney and Catherine talking about how dancing is (or isn’t) comparable to marriage. AWE.

KH Rating: 5/5

NA was so charming to read. I enjoyed how Catherine had a crush on Mr. Tilney from day one, and I shared her annoyance at Mr. Thorpe creepy intrusiveness. The only thing that could have possibly been improved upon was the ending, which was summed up way too fast. There weren’t any lengthy sweaty I Love Yous or romantic gazing and kissing. It was too short and too sweet for those of us who endured the entire book just to see them engaged.
All in all, a new favourite read ❤

wp-1485734153969.jpg

Book 2/40
Kristen and Kelsey’s 40 Book Challenge (2017)

Check out Kelsey’s blogs!!!
https://insertlifestory.wordpress.com/
https://ireadwaypastmybedtime.wordpress.com/

Instagram: @kristenandnorman & @gleekfreak777
#kristenandkelseysfortybookchallenge

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

